Kyrgyzstan Selected Regional Coordinator of WIPO

Oct 21 2009 - 13:10

Kyrgyzstan has been selected as the regional coordinator of the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), thus replacing the Russian Federation in this position.

The region Kyrgyzstan is to be responsible for includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, Ukraine, Tajikistan, Kazakhstan, Armenia, Turkmenistan, Azerbaijan and Uzbekistan.

The decision was made at the meeting of WIPO member states, held from September 22 to October 1, 2009 in Geneva, Switzerland.

There are seven regional groups in the WIPO. Coordinators are responsible for facilitating the relations between the WIPO Secretariat and the member states. They are also responsible for the representation of their groups during the meetings with the Secretariat and the dissemination of information afterwards.

Serbia is now a regional coordinator of the Central European and Baltic States.

For more information, please contact Jelena Jankovic in our Balkan Regional Office.

350 appreciate this

Read more news on Kyrgyzstan or . Get our latest IP news or browse IP News Eastern Europe Archives.