EAEU Trademark Agreement Enters into Force

May 5 2021 - 14:36

The Agreement on the Eurasian Economic Union Trademarks, Service Marks and Appellations of Origin, signed on February 3, 2020 by all five EAEU member countries –Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and Russia, entered into force on April 26, 2021, following the recent ratification by all member states.

The EAEU Trademark Agreement is a fundamental document contributing to the formation of a regional, unified trademark system. As announced on the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) website, a set of instructions outlining procedural rules for the implementation of various provisions of the agreement will be approved in the nearest future.

Under the unified system, right holders will soon be able to obtain legal protection simultaneously in all EAEU member states by submitting one application to any of the national offices, i.e. they will be able to choose a “receiving office”. Each trademark application will undergo preliminary (formal) and substantive examination, with the entire registration procedure estimated to take approximately one year. The EAEU trademark will be kept in a single register administered by the EEC.

Prepared by: Ainur Zhussipova

For more information, please contact kazakhstan@petosevic.com.

Source: Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC) website

460 appreciate this

Read more news on Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia or Trademarks. Get our latest IP news or browse IP News Eastern Europe Archives.