PETOŠEVIĆ PEOPLE: Q&A with Murad Sabirov

Based in our Tashkent office, Associate Murad Sabirov focuses on trademark and patent prosecution. He handles trademark and patent registrations and renewals, drafts agreements and other legal documents and prepares search reports. We asked Murad about his work, his favorite food, things most people don’t know about him, and much more.

  1. How did you start your career in IP?

    I was offered an internship in a local IP firm and quickly became keen on IP.

  2. What is the most challenging aspect of your work?

    Probably dealing with matters that I am not yet familiar with.

  3. What do you most enjoy doing at work?

    I like providing advice to clients and explaining certain legal minefields and technicalities.

  4. What would you be working in, if you weren’t working in IP?

    I would have loved to be a doctor.

  5. What was the first job you’ve ever had?

    I was a cook. I made pizzas. They were all right!

  6. What is your favorite thing to do when you are not working?

    I like relaxing at home, watching my favorite YouTube channels, and playing video games with friends. I am a stay-at-home person.

  7. What book did you read last?

    I read a French textbook. I do not read fiction much these days.

  8. What is your favorite song/music at the moment?

    “Noxchi Cho” by Ali Dimaev.

  9. What is your favorite dish of all time?

    A rich Uzbek soup called shourpa (also spelled shorwa, shorpo, chorba) with pieces of lamb and vegetables. It’s healthy, easy to cook and has a stimulating effect similar to energy drinks.

  10. If you could meet anyone in the world, from the past or present, who would it be and why?

    My grandparents. They went through many hardships throughout their lives but never lost courage and optimism. I mean, I want to give up on life when I cannot get some coffee in the morning! If I could meet a celebrity from the past, it would be Audrey Hepburn. She was incredibly charming.

  11. What was your favorite subject in school and why?

    We had a very enthusiastic history teacher. With him, every lesson was like an adventure.

  12. What did you want to be when growing up?

    A veterinarian. Having a job where I would be seeing all kinds of animals every day seemed like a dream.

  13. Tell us three things most people don’t know about you.

    I own a pit bull. I am a big fan of kettlebell exercises and kettlebells are scattered everywhere around my house. To my embarrassment, I do not speak Uzbek.

  14. If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?

    To fall asleep at will…Waking up at will would be nice too.

  15. What is your biggest frustration about the world around you?

    Cruelty towards animals.

  16. What is the most important thing you have learned in the last five years?

    That life is short.

  17. What do you wish you could have told yourself at age 13?

    Not to eat so much candy.

  18. What cities/countries have you lived in?

    Other than Tashkent, Uzbekistan, I spent six months in Ocean City, USA. I was there under a cultural exchange program.

  19. If you could live in another country of the 30+ countries where PETOŠEVIĆ operates, which would you pick and why?

    I would pick Czech Republic. Its gothic architecture looks surreal.

  20. If someone came to your city for 24 hours, where would you take them?

    We would take a ride around the city, visit the traditional Chorsu Bazaar and try national dishes in a few restaurants.

Read more PETOŠEVIĆ People interviews.