PETOŠEVIĆ PEOPLE: Q&A with Daria Labut

Part of the PETOŠEVIĆ Russia team since 2020, Associate and Russian Trademark Attorney Daria Labut handles trademark prosecution, provides legal opinions and represents clients before the Russian Intellectual Property Office. We asked Daria about her work, her favorite food, things most people don’t know about her, and much more.

  1. How did you start your career in the IP field?

    After graduating, I was looking for an interesting job, with regular working hours and a decent salary, where my skills would be valued the most, and it happened to be in IP. For a long time, I wasn’t sure I would stay in IP, but I am now a trademark attorney and am not planning on leaving the field!

  2. What is the most challenging aspect of your work?

    All the “ordinary” challenges, like multitasking or meeting numerous deadlines, but because a lot of things in IP are to a certain degree subjective, like trademarks’ similarity, and inconsistent, like the IPO’s practice in certain matters, I guess the most challenging thing for me is providing legal advice that the clients can rely on.

  3. What do you most enjoy doing at work?

    I love seeing clients implement the advice I’ve given, and seeing them build their business activities, advertising, marketing, filings and enforcement strategies around it.

  4. What would you be working in, if you weren’t working in IP?

    I would pursue the career of an international lawyer (either in the field of cultural property law or maritime law).

  5. What was the first job you’ve ever had?

    The first company I worked for was a large IT service provider. I worked as an office manager for 3 months, then transferred to sales for another 3 months, and then worked as a copywriter and translator for about a year, all for the same company.

  6. What is your favorite thing to do when you are not working?

    I have a lot of hobbies, which include dancing, karaoke, travelling, photography and different kinds of sports, but I mostly leave them for weekends and vacations. During the week, after work, I prefer less active and more common hobbies – reading, watching movies and socializing.

  7. What book did you read last?

    Neil Gaiman’s “American Gods”.

  8. What is your favorite dish of all time?

    Definitely pasta!

  9. If you could meet anyone in the world, from the past or present, who would it be and why?

    Perhaps Princess Diana or Michael Jackson.

  10. What was your favorite subject in school and why?

    I was interested in almost everything: social studies, English, physics, math, programming, literature. The only subjects I didn’t find fascinating at the time were chemistry and biology.

  11. What did you want to be when growing up?

    An archeologist, a physicist, a sociologist… the list goes on.

  12. Tell us three things most people don’t know about you.

    I never wanted to become a lawyer.
    My PhD thesis was related to the international legal regulation of the continental shelf, which is the seabed that borders a country’s shoreline.
    Up until 2016, I had never visited another country (in 2016, I went to Hong Kong and it was spectacular).

  13. If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?

    I have always tried to actually learn the things I was interested in, but if I could perfect something, it would be singing.

  14. What is your biggest frustration about the world around you?

    Irresponsibility.

  15. What is the most important thing you have learned in the last five years?

    It dawned on me that no one is going to live forever, that life is happening right now, so certain major decisions that can make us happier shouldn’t be put on hold, waiting for some illusive better times or somebody’s approval.

  16. What do you wish you could have told yourself at age 13?

    Not all grown-ups are actually smart, and not so many of them actually know what they are doing with their lives. Not all advice should be taken seriously, and sometimes authority should be questioned.

  17. What cities/countries have you lived in?

    Just Moscow, and my hometown Lytkarino, which is just outside Moscow.

  18. If you could live in another country of the 30+ countries where PETOŠEVIĆ operates, which would you pick and why?

    I guess it would be Bulgaria. My grandmother used to teach Bulgarian language in university, and it somehow inspired my love for the country, its nature, the language and the people.

  19. If someone came to your city for 24 hours, where would you take them?

    I was born in Moscow, but I have lived in a small town near it, Lytkarino, for almost my whole life. In Lytkarino there is a forest and a lake you can swim in, so I would probably take my guests there. My studies, my work and most of my social activities have always revolved around Moscow, so I would also invite the visitor there – to see the Red Square, the museums, the cathedrals and the parks.

Read more PETOŠEVIĆ People interviews.