PETOŠEVIĆ PEOPLE: Q&A with Daria Dunai

After working in the IP field for 24 years, many of which she spent as a partner at one of the leading IP firms in Belarus, Daria Dunai joined the newest PETOŠEVIĆ office, in Minsk, Belarus, in 2018. As a Patent and Trademark Attorney, Daria handles the entire range of IP work for our clients operating in Belarus, with an accent on patent matters. We asked Daria about her work, hobbies, interests, and much more.

  1. How did you start your career in the IP field?

    I started my IP career when I was a student. I knew German well, and at first I handled translations of invention descriptions from German. Then I began to deal with other IP rights. Gradually, as I delved into the work, I became particularly interested in this area.

  2. What is the most challenging aspect of your work?

    Communication with the authorities is sometimes challenging – what worked yesterday may not work today.

  3. What do you most enjoy doing at work?

    I like to deal with interesting and challenging cases, although even standard cases have their unique issues. In general, I enjoy doing any work in the IP field.

  4. What would you be working in, if you weren’t working in IP?

    This is a difficult question, because I have not worked in any other fields. Perhaps I would be a zoopsychologist.

  5. What was the first job you’ve ever had?

    In fact I translated invention descriptions.

  6. What is your favorite thing to do when you are not working?

    I like reading, doing sports (running, swimming, cycling, horseback riding), travelling, painting, sculpting, cooking, spending time with my family.

  7. What book did you read last?

    Leo Tolstoy’s “Anna Karenina”.

  8. What is your favorite song/music at the moment?

    “Wind of Change” by Scorpions.

  9. What is your favorite dish of all time?

    I don’t really have one. I like a varied, healthy diet.

  10. If you could meet anyone in the world, from the past or present, who would it be and why?

    I have never thought about it. I think it would be interesting to chat with any famous person from the past or present.

  11. What was your favorite subject in school and why?

    Biology, because I was really interested in animals.

  12. What did you want to be when growing up?

    I wanted to be a veterinarian, a sculptor or a writer.

  13. Tell us three things most people don’t know about you.

    I studied at an art school, I love horses, and I’m afraid of heights.

  14. If you could learn to do anything, what would it be?

    I would like to learn another foreign language.

  15. What is your biggest frustration about the world around you?

    I am concerned about climate change and try to do my best not to pollute the environment.

  16. What is the most important thing you have learned in the last five years?

    It is necessary to look philosophically at all events in life.

  17. What do you wish you could have told yourself at age 13?

    Biology is good, but better practice law and English.

  18. What cities/countries have you lived in?

    Minsk, Belarus and Berlin, Germany.

  19. If you could live in any of the 30+ countries where PETOŠEVIĆ operates, which would you pick and why?

    It would be perfect to spend an equal amount of time in each country, yet I am more attracted to countries where the sea is close by (Montenegro and Croatia), and to Luxembourg because of its favorable geographical location.

  20. If someone came to your city for 24 hours, where would you take them?

    I would show them Independence Avenue, which is the main street in Minsk, then the Upper Town and Trinity Hill areas. I would take them to Oktyabrskaya Street, which used to be an industrial area and is now a cultural hub of the city full of murals. Finally, I would take my guest to the National Art Museum and the National Opera and Ballet.

Read more PETOŠEVIĆ People interviews.